Skip to navigation

English Faculty

Robert Erle Barham

Robert Erle Barham
Associate Professor of English
On faculty since 2012

 

706.419.1628
robert.barham@covenant.edu

 


 

Cliff Foreman

Clifford W. Foreman
Professor of English
Moderator of the Faculty
On faculty since 1986

 

706.419.1634
cliff.foreman@covenant.edu

 


 

Sarah Huffines

Sarah L. Huffines
Associate Professor of English
Director of the Writing Center
On faculty since 2006

 

706.419.1662
sarah.huffines@covenant.edu

 


 

Gwen Macallister

Gwen W. Macallister
Associate Professor of English
On faculty since 2002

 

706.419.1547
gwen.macallister@covenant.edu

 


 

Nola M. Hecker (Stephens)

Nola M. Hecker (Stephens)
Associate Professor of Linguistics
On faculty since 2012

 

706.419.1617
706.820.2165 (Fax)
nola.stephens@covenant.edu

 


 

Bill Tate

William Tate
Professor of English
Department Chair
Dean of Arts and Letters
On faculty since 2007

 

706.419.1619
william.tate@covenant.edu

Dr. Nola Stephens

Dr. Stephens discusses the importance of language in Scripture and describes the excitement of studying linguistics as a believer.

Maggie Luke

"The English major at Covenant is awesome. Each member of the faculty is incredibly knowledgeable and wise, and really cares about the students. I have always loved to read and write, and the classes offered have grown me as a writer and reader in so many areas...there’s something about the English major that just has you constantly thinking about things; chapel talks tie into something you’re reading, core classes enhance your understanding of literature. English lets you get inside the heads of so many different people: your classmates, your professors, an author from sixty years ago. You learn from others, and are given this space to contribute."
 - Maggie Luke '20