Skip to navigation

Commencement 2017


Covenant College celebrated the graduation of more than 200 students at its 62nd annual commencement ceremony on May 6, 2017. The Class of 2017 was warmly welcomed into the alumni family to the sound of Covenant’s Pipe & Drum Corps.


The ceremony began with the processional of faculty, board members, and students, led by Dr. Larry Mehne, professor of chemistry, who carried the ceremonial mace. Dr. John Wingard, professor of philosophy, began the ceremony with a prayer of invocation. Undergraduates Ben Hooper ’17 and Mary Hollidge ’17 and graduate student Allison DeRoo ’17 shared testimonies of their time at Covenant. Dr. Brian Fikkert, professor of economics & community development and president of the Chalmers Center, delivered the commencement address.


Professors Jeff Hall and Camille Hallstrom presented the candidates for graduation and President Derek Halvorson ’93 awarded the degrees. Dr. Bill Davis, professor of philosophy, prayed for the graduates and Dick Bowser, chairman of the board, offered a commendation from the board to the graduating seniors. After singing the Covenant College hymn “All for Jesus,” Dr. Heunggi Park, assistant professor of mathematics, closed the ceremony in prayer. The Covenant Pipe & Drum Corps led the recessional out of the auditorium and graduates celebrated the day with friends and family.


You can watch a full recording of the ceremony here, or just watch Dr. Brian Fikkert’s commencement address online here