Skip to navigation

Convocation 2017

On Thursday, August 24, 2017, Covenant College held its sixty-third annual convocation ceremony, welcoming the Class of 2021 to campus and opening a new academic year.


President Derek Halvorson presided over the ceremony; Dr. Elissa Yukiko Weichbrodt, assistant professor of art, provided the invocation; and Dr. Kevin Eames, professor of psychology & director of institutional effectiveness, delivered the convocation address.


After the address, three new faculty members were installed: Chris Cyr, assistant professor of mathematics; Dr. Heath Garris, assistant professor of biology; Brian Hecker, reference librarian; Dr. David Saiki, associate professor of chemistry; and Mark Slavovsky, assistant professor of accounting.


Chairman of the Board Dick Bowser delivered a charge to students, and Rodney Miller, dean of records, introduced new students to campus as the Covenant community erupted in a welcoming applause.


Students, faculty, and staff concluded the ceremony with a congregational singing of the College hymn, “All for Jesus.” Dr. Matthew Vos, professor of sociology, delivered the closing prayer, and Covenant’s Pipe & Drum Corps led the recessional out of the chapel, marking the official start of the academic year.