Skip to navigation

Saxophonist Ashu Opens 2010-2011 Covenant Arts Season

Friday, September 10, 2010, 8:00 PM
For ticketing information, please visit the Covenant Arts page


Ashu, saxophone
Concert saxophonist Ashu, age 25, has continually defied conventions winning major international and national competitions traditionally won by pianists and violinists. He made his recital debut at Carnegie Hall's Weill Hall in New York and, at age 16, made his concerto debut at DAR Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C. Since then, concerto and recital performances have taken him throughout the USA and Europe.

With a dynamic style that captivates audiences, and a repertoire ranging from original works by Ibert, Debussy, and Villa-Lobos to his own arrangements of Piazzolla, Rachmaninoff, and Morricone, Ashu has shown that the concert saxophone can reach beyond stylistic categorization and to a large diversity of people. His playing has been described as “Riveting...Brilliant...Pizzazz to burn!” (National Public Radio Performance Today host) and “...just as much fun to watch him as it is to listen to him.” (Dallas Morning News). Born and raised in California, Ashu has won First Prizes at competitions including the International Heida Hermanns, International Kingsville Wind Instrumentalist, National Federation of Music Clubs, National Midland-Odessa, National Lennox, National George S. Howard, and Houston Symphony Concerto Competitions. Ashu graduated from Northwestern University and is currently based in Chicago. For more information, please visit his website at


Kuang-Hao Huang, piano
Pianist Kuang-Hao Huang has performed throughout Europe and the United States, and as a soloist with the New World Symphony Orchestra and Northwestern University Symphony Orchestra. In March 2000, he premiered two works as part of Carnegie Hall’s Millennium Book Project. Huang is an active collaborator, regularly performing with members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Chicago Chamber Musicians. He has performed on Ravinia’s Rising Star Series, WFMT and the Symphony’s Music NOW series.